Sorry I haven’t posted anything in a LONG time. It has been a roller coaster of a semester for me. Good news is that I got engaged to the man I love and I passed my first year of vet school! Bad news, I ended up having a very difficult conversation with my fiance in which he had to explain why he was ending our relationship. It was pretty tough. I hold no animosity towards him though as I couldn’t possibly blame someone for not loving me as much as I love them. That just wouldn’t make sense.

But, now it is summer time and I have definitely been kept busy with my jobs. A lot of my co-workers left for the summer so I have been on multiple on-call shifts for my emergency surgical assistant job and it has been busy. I have already seen multiple foreign bodies, hemilaminectomies, septic abdomens, Achilles tendon repair, lacerations due to one dog attacking another dog, and pyometras. My boss also has me training new workers which is crazy because I feel like I don’t even know what I am doing. I also picked up a part time job working as the student worker for the Shelter Medicine program at my school. Basically all I do is clean, pack, and sterilize the instruments used for spays/neuters. Another plus for it being summer is that  I actually have time to clean everything. It is surprising how dirty the house can get during exams when you spend only a few hours at home each day.

That is pretty much all I have to say for now, until next time!

2 thoughts on “Summer, Finally.

Leave a comment