Tomorrow marks the first day of the spring semester. Last semester was one quarter in classes and the other quarter in clinical rotations. This semester however, is two straight quarters in classes until summer break. 4 quizzes, 2 midterms, and 2 finals left until my first year is officially complete and I will be 1/4 of a doctor. It is all still very exciting to be honest. My classes for this quarter are histology and the lab, gross anatomy and the lab, physiology, neurobiology, clinical correlations, intro to food supply medicine, and equine medicine and husbandry.

So, updates on everything. I STILL can’t say anything about the bobcat that is in our care right now as it is still with us for recovery form it’s surgery. I can tell you that it is healing well and we are hoping to send her to a rehab soon. I also ended up getting a job. Yup. I told myself that I wasn’t going to get a job during the school year while I was in vet school but my workaholic-side kicked in sooner than expected and I caved. BUT, I got a job as an emergency on-call surgical assistant. Basically, I am on-call one evening during the week and one shift during the weekend (Each shift is 12 hours). So it really isn’t that big of a commitment and it will help me network with the small animal surgery people, my technical skills, and my general anatomy/surgery skills. I applied for the summer student job program with Banfield and was offered an interview that is happening tomorrow. I am on the fence about doing this program because I’ve heard good and bad things about it depending on the location, so we’ll see.

4 thoughts on “Year 1 Part 2

  1. Good luck with everything! How did your interview go? And what school do you go to that has clinics first semester? That seems like a lot of fun and a good learning experience.

    Like

    1. I attend the University of Illinois. My interview was alright. It was very short, around 10 minutes I believe, and that’s only because I talked to them more after they finished their questions. It’s pretty normal to have 5-10min interviews at my school. I was definitely more comfortable when I interviewed for a school that had an hour long interview process because I felt like they had a better understanding of who I was. But I got in to both so I guess they were satisfied with my short interview haha. U of I has a 8 week long (one quarter) clinical rotations first and second year. Third years start their 4th year clinical year the last quarter of the spring semester as out-going 4th years.

      Like

      1. Nice, I worked with a third year at Illinois at an emergency clinic this summer, but I didn’t know you guys had such a cool schedule. Do you know Lauren P?

        Good about the interview! Is that for your Banfield interview or admission interview?

        Like

      2. Oh my apologies, I didn’t even check to see what interview you were talking about haha. I am a little sleep deprived and brain-dead from a day of lectures. It was for my admission interview. My banfield interview went okay I suppose. It was a guy reading questions and sentences off a script and typing what I said. No reaction, no discussion. So we will see on that, I should hear around February or March. I don’t know her personally but I have some friends that know her

        Like

Leave a comment